RETRO REVIEW: “Project: Twilight”

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be journeying back through the Big Finish Monthly Range and following the Evelyn/Hex arc, starting with this story and ending with “Lurkers at Sunlight’s Edge”.

I’m really excited to get started on this saga; Evelyn and Hex are two of the companions I know the least about, so it’ll be great to fill in some gaps with them while listening to one of the longest story arcs Big Finish has ever done!

So, without further ado, here’s my review of Project: Twilight, by Mark Wright and Cavan Scott.

“Project: Twilight” by Mark Wright and Cavan Scott

Project: Twilight follows the Sixth Doctor and Evelyn as they investigate a mysterious casino in the London docklands and come across the shadowy Forge for the first time. It’s a script full of twists and turns, well-drawn characters and ominous teases for this arc’s future.

Colin Baker gets to show off all the facets of his Doctor here, from moments of kindness and sensitivity during conversations with Cassie to this incarnation’s trademark blustery indignation when facing off against the story’s villains. Scott and Wright provide Baker with such strong material here and, as usual, he performs it wonderfully.

Evelyn is also served well by this script, proving herself as a worthy companion to the Doctor not only in her defiance of the villainous Reggie, but in her taking care and defence of Cassie. Maggie Stables gets some particularly great material near the very end of the story, which I won’t spoil for those who haven’t listened.

The guest characters in this story are extremely well-performed too. Stephen Chance is delightfully sinister as Nimrod, Holly de Jong brings the morally ambiguous Amelia to life with flair, Rosie Cavaliero tugs at our heartstrings as the unfortunate Cassie, and Rob Dixon is brilliant as the thuggish villain of the piece: Reggie.

The sound design by Gareth Jenkins is extremely evocative, bringing both the London docklands setting and many of the high-octane sequences of the piece to life extremely well. Jim Mortimore and Jane Elphinston‘s music is also top notch, matching the story’s sinister tone with a chilling piano riff.

Overall, Project: Twilight is a great start to this arc, and I can’t wait to hear the next instalment soon.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Project: Twilight is available as a download from


One response to “RETRO REVIEW: “Project: Twilight””

  1. […] finished the wonderful Project: Twilight (review here), it’s time to review the next instalment in the Hex/Evelyn arc: Cavan Scott and Mark […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: